helpful and lazy scribbles

I came across the latest additions to my archive of library book annotations a couple of weeks ago in V. Tinkler-Villani’s, Visions of Dante in English Poetry: translations of the Commedia from Jonathan Richardson to William Blake (Amsterdam: Rodopi, 1989).

 

Among various scribblings, two jumped out at me. The first is actually potentially helpful to other readers of the book, informing where a source a mentioned can be accessed: DSC_0380

 

The other, in a different hand, is frankly lazy – marking the conclusion of the book as a handy quotation to conclude the reader in question’s own essay: DSC_0383

3 thoughts on “helpful and lazy scribbles

  1. Well Do I remember the President of the Institute where I was studying being appalled that the second-hand text book I was using in a seminar was underlined in a personal code of coloured inks by the previous owner, When he told me off, I turned to a mutual acquaintance’s name at the front. ‘Sorry, Will; say no more. That explains a great deal.’

Leave a Reply

