Theology of an Easter Tree

You may wonder at the words above belonging together. In my experience ‘Easter Tree’ alone tends to be met with blank looks, never mind a theology thereof.

I grew up with the tradition of an Easter tree because my parents discovered it in Switzerland when visiting my uncle who was working there at the time, before I was born.

It’s basically a vase of spring twigs, decorated with wooden eggs, chicks and other Easter decorations. I put mine together on Tuesday upon returning to Chichester after the Easter weekend:

I’m not aware of the origins of this tradition, or whether there is any particular theology behind it, though I daresay the world wide web offers a few possible answers. As with its cousin the Christmas tree, this may be more a secular than a religious tradition, but similarly, there is plenty of potential to read theological meaning into it — most obviously that the spring twigs unfurling and the eggs hung upon it resonate with the Easter promise of new life.

I feel this more strongly still with my tree this year. On my ramble around Chichester in search of suitable twigs (not the easiest task with Easter being so early this year), I came upon a bough of a willow tree blown down in Storm Katie over the Easter weekend. I would never have got away with using the unruly willow branches at the family home (Mum thinks tulips are messy) but rescuing a few twigs for my Easter tree seemed to resonate with the Easter narrative (at least temporarily). New life from death!

DSC_1822

 

One thought on “Theology of an Easter Tree

Leave a Reply

