Farewell to the Palace

This week between Christmas and New Year tends to feel something of a limbo, but this year that feeling is greater for me as I’m between jobs and homes.

I finished work as Bishop Otter Scholar in Chichester just before Christmas, and so have moved out of my flat in the Palace — I doubt I will ever have such a grand address again!

In January I start a new job as a research fellow at the University of Manchester (more on the new research to follow), where I may have a more humble home address, although I will have the joy of working in the gorgeous John Rylands Library.

In the meantime, here are some highlights from my time living at the Palace (if you are on twitter, you will find more photos, videos and anecdotes on #palatialproblems).

 

Wildlife in the garden:

dsc_0223dsc_0876

 

Fireworks in the garden (a suitably secure open space to set off public displays):

cyecetdxcaa9jzs

 

Gorgeous autumn foliage:

cwpgi92xeaqwitw

 

And some spectacular skies:

cveq-qhwiaaip7iczfz3vkweaaa5slcvjp26fwcaab8scczdjmdvxgaa6fum

Leave a Reply

